Busan!

August 4, 2009

I’ve just returned from our placement meeting to the dormitory, and I can barely contain my excitement. The auditorium where the meeting was held was teeming with the nervousness and anxiety of seventy ETAs who waited to hear where they would be living for the next year.  Each of us was called, one by one, by region, and we placed a post-it note with our name on a huge map of Korea that hung at the front of the auditorium. It was like the NFL Draft for nerds. I feel incredibly lucky, because I have been placed in Busan, exactly where I requested. I will be teaching at Mandeok High School, a co-ed public school, and I’ll have over a thousand students (I will probably only see each class once per week or per two weeks). Busan, which is located on the southeastern coast, is the second most populated city in Korea, after Seoul, with a population of about five million. It has a subway. It is on the KTX, Korea’s high-speed (300 km/hr) train line; so even though Seoul is on the opposite side of the country, it’s only a two hours and forty minutes away. It has what may be the best beaches in the country. Oldboy was filmed there. And if you do a google image search for Mandeok High School, this comes up:

This is what Busan actually looks like:

It’s Tuesday, but it feels like the weekend. Finally, I know where I’ll be for the next year, and right now I couldn’t be happier.

One Response to “Busan!”

  1. Kate said

    You had me at old boy. But srsly, Wikipedia is makin this place sound awesome. Now I need to start saving to visit

    “Busan is called the summer capital of Korea since it attracts tourists from all over the country to its six beaches. Luxury hotels and a carnival boardwalk line the beach at Haeundae. Gwangalli Beach is famous for its cafes, bars, and restaurants along the beach, and the Grand Gwangan Bridge. The area around Pukyong National University and Kyungsung University has many cafes, bars and restaurants attracting college students and youth.”

Leave a Reply

